Top 10 types of Japanese Seafood

Japanese cuisine has become very famous worldwide due to its unique taste and variety of dishes.

Japan was once known as the land of rice, but now it is the leading producer of seafood in the world. In addition, Japan is home to over 3,500 species of fish, making it the largest concentration of marine life in the world.

Here are the top ten types of Japanese seafood:

  1. Sashimi: thinly sliced raw fish, typically served with soy sauce and wasabi
  2. Sushi: vinegared rice combined with other ingredients, often including raw fish
  3. Takoyaki: small octopus balls cooked in a special takoyaki pan and topped with a variety of ingredients
  4. Tempura: seafood or vegetables that have been battered and deep-fried
  5. Edamame: immature soybeans that are steamed and salted
  6. Unagi: grilled freshwater eel, often served in sushi or on top of rice
  7. Maguro: bluefin tuna, a popular sushi ingredient
  8. Saba: mackerel that has been marinated and grilled
  9. Ebi: cooked and seasoned shrimp
  10. Ikura: salmon roe, often served as sushi or on top of rice.